Halloween, Belfast, and Beyond

The past 5 days have been a tiring crazy adventure. It started off with Halloween. Derry is the self-proclaimed “Halloween Capital of the World” and boy do they really go all out! We started the night with the Parade that goes through down town Derry. Some of the people in our group were drumming in the parade, but I really wanted to watch it so I decided not be a drummer. Life’s all about choices right! It was quite cold out and one of the first floats let out smoke but here are just a few pictures I took:

After the parade we went out into the crowds of people in the city center. Taylor, her friend Katie, and myself were dressed as Cola. It was fun to  see the massive amounts of people in Derry, everyone was in costume young and old, Protestant or Catholic, everyone was celebrating at our group from Baldwin Wallace was no exception.

Halloween Dublin IMG_0476

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following morning Taylor, Katie and I left to spend the weekend in Belfast. My friend Michaela, who was the Northern Irish exchange student that went to BW last year, goes to school at Queens University there. Lucile and two other girls who were exchange students at BW last year also flew in. Together, the 7 of us toured Belfast and celebrated Taylor’s 21st Birthday.

We ended our stay in Belfast by visiting Stormont, the Northern Irish Assembly. The combination of everything we did in Belfast was a great way to experience the tourism, culture, and politics all in just a short trip. I had such a great weekend in Belfast but it is bittersweet to think that I don’t know when the next time I’ll see those ladies again! I was a weekend for the record books and till we meet again i’ll have my wonderful photos to remind me the fun times.

Taylor and I at Stormont

Taylor and I at Stormont

Oh also an unfortunate side note, I lost my American cell phone while there, most likely in the cab! I’m going to call the taxi company again tomorrow but i’ve already accepted the fact that I will likely have to by a new cell phone. Still the experience is worth having to fork over $80  for a new phone!

 

Leave a comment